HAIR LOSS TREATMENT RANKED: MINOXIDIL, FINASTERIDE, DUTASTERIDE 🤔 DERMATOLOGIST @DrDrayzday
By Dr Dray · published · 16:10 · 152K views when we checked · Clinician: Dr Dray
The video belongs to Dr Dray and plays on YouTube's privacy-enhanced player. Watch on YouTube.
What this video covers
This page covers a video from the Dr Dray channel, whose title describes the creator as a dermatologist. It was published on 23 June 2022 and runs 16 minutes 10 seconds. According to its description, the video looks at a new meta-analysis that compares finasteride, dutasteride and minoxidil for hair growth in men. The title presents the topic as a ranking of the three treatments.
The description also frames part of the discussion as dutasteride against finasteride, using the brand names Avodart and Propecia, and asks which hair loss treatment is best. It cites one source: a 2022 network meta-analysis by Gupta and colleagues in JAMA Dermatology, on the relative efficacy of minoxidil and the 5-alpha reductase inhibitors in men with androgenetic alopecia. A network meta-analysis compares several treatments across many trials, so anyone who wants the actual figures should read the paper itself. The metadata does not say how the creator ranks the treatments, and this page does not guess.
There are no chapters, so there is no way to tell from the metadata where each drug is covered. The creator states that the video is not sponsored. The description includes a link to a shopping-links profile, which may be an affiliate arrangement, along with social media accounts and links to other videos by the same creator. Those cover oral minoxidil, spironolactone, hormonal hair loss, hair oils, slowing hair loss and COVID related hair loss. The creator's disclaimer says the content is for information only and is not medical advice.
Our summary, written from the video's title, description and chapters (description and chapters), checked 2026-10-31. It reports what the creator presents; it is not medical advice, and the creator's experience may not match yours.
What it costs today
- FDA-approved and compounded
- No FDA warning letter found
- No state list published
Which programs let you message a clinician
From each program's own page, read 2026-10-31. "Not found" means we found no statement either way.
| Program | Message a clinician | Cost | From | Visit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Keeps | YesThe plan lists 24/7 messaging access with a licensed medical provider among what you get.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $14/mo | Visit |
| Ro | YesFree, unlimited follow-up messaging with a Ro-affiliated provider after you start treatment.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $16/mo | Visit |
| GoodRx Care | YesYou message your provider from the treatment subscription dashboard; a dose change or a long gap may require a new paid telehealth visit, and no messaging price is stated.source, 2026-10-31 | Not stated | $16/mo | Visit |
| Rex MD | YesFollow-ups are free once treatment starts; you message your assigned provider through the member portal any time.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $18/mo | Visit |
| Happy Head | YesUnlimited dermatologist support to adjust treatment; the page calls it support rather than messaging and states no price for it.source, 2026-10-31 | Not stated | $18/mo | Visit |
| Tuyo Health | YesMonthly follow-ups are included and your doctor stays available to check in; the FAQ adds messaging with your provider on a secure platform.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $18/mo | Visit |
| Strut Health | YesFree, unlimited follow-ups with a healthcare provider, who you can message from your account.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $18.33/mo | Visit |
| Hims | YesYou can message a provider with questions at any time, for free.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $22/mo | Visit |
| Maximus | YesEvery protocol includes 24/7 messaging with your care team at no additional cost.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $24.99/mo | Visit |
| MangoRx | YesUnlimited access to licensed providers for any concerns, with ongoing provider support listed in the monthly plan; the page does not name the channel.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $90/mo | Visit |
| Lemonaid Health | YesMessaging with clinical providers is included (stated on the oral minoxidil hair loss page; the ED page does not mention it).source, 2026-10-31 | Included | See review | Visit |
| PeterMD | YesUnlimited free consultations and 24/7 access to your medical team; the page says access and consults, not messaging by name.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | See review | Visit |
| Hone Health | YesUnlimited messaging with your care team, plus a clinician meeting every 3 months, as part of the membership.source, 2026-10-31 | Included in the paid Hone membership | See review | Visit |
| Rugiet | YesYou can message your doctor anytime in the portal, and unlimited follow-ups with your doctor are included in the price.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $99/mo | Visit |
| DudeMeds | Not foundNo statement found on the site about messaging a clinician after starting treatment. | Not stated | See review | Visit |
More Finasteride videos
15:21
5:27
4:21