Men's Health Watchdog
A man at a kitchen counter in morning light, reading on his phone

Online ED and hair loss programs, checked

We check who prescribes, which pharmacy fills it, whether it is an FDA-approved generic or compounded, and the real price per pill across 20 programs.

men's health programs compared and scored
20
men's health programs with an FDA warning letter or FTC action on record
6
lowest published price per dose of generic sildenafil, Strut Health
$1.60
every price read on the program's own page
Oct 31

Our top picks right now

Three of the 20 programs we score on price, transparency, care, access and reputation.

See all 20
ro.co
Our #1 pick

Ro

9.2/10Excellent

Best for men who want plain FDA-approved generics with the visit included and a clear per-dose price.

From
$16/mo
$2 per dose, FDA-approved
Read review
Rex MD's homepage, captured by usRunner-up

Rex MD

9.1/10Excellent

Best for men who want FDA-approved generics at a low per-dose price with the consult included.

From
$18/mo
$1.80 per dose, FDA-approved
Read review
Happy Head's homepage, captured by usThird pick

Happy Head

8.8/10Very good

Best for men who want hair loss care from a dermatologist and will prepay six months for the lowest monthly price.

From
$18/mo
Read review

Ranked by our published score, which no provider can pay for. Some links on this site may earn us a commission at no cost to you; it never changes a score or a position. How we make money.

FDA-approved generic, or a compounded formula

Two kinds of medication sit side by side on most of these sites. Only one is FDA-approved. Know which you are buying.

Two plain white pill bottles and a blister pack of white tablets on a stone sill

Generic, FDA-approved

Generic sildenafil, tadalafil and finasteride tablets are the same drugs as Viagra, Cialis and Propecia, approved by the FDA. Most programs sell them with the online visit included.

  • 11 programs sell an FDA-approved ED or hair loss plan, from $14/mo
  • Price per dose shown next to the monthly price
  • Cash price with your own prescription, for comparison
A plain brown cardboard delivery box on a wooden bench by a front door

Compounded chews, mints and combos

Chews, mints, sprays and multi-drug tablets are mixed by a pharmacy for each order. They are not FDA-approved, and in September 2025 the FDA warned a seller whose claims implied they were the same as the approved drugs.

  • 11 programs sell a compounded ED or hair loss plan, from $20/mo
  • Labelled compounded on every plan we list
  • FDA letters and alerts linked on each review

How we check every program

A low headline price means little until you know what it is and who stands behind it. We look up both and link our sources.

  1. 01

    Priced per pill and per month

    We read each plan on the program's own page, add any required fee, and show the per-dose price next to the monthly one, so a cheap pill on a big pack cannot hide.

  2. 02

    The record, looked up

    FDA warning letters, FTC actions and lawsuits, the LegitScript seal and whether each plan is FDA-approved or compounded, each with the page we read.

  3. 03

    Scores no one can buy

    Five published criteria set every score. What a program might pay us is not one of them, and it never moves a position.

Red flags buying ED or hair loss meds online

The warning signs the FDA lists, and the ones we check before a program reaches our picks.

Every program, checked
  • No prescription required

    Sildenafil, tadalafil and finasteride are prescription drugs. A site that sells them without one is the first warning sign on the FDA's BeSafeRx list.

  • No named US pharmacy

    A licensed program says which state-licensed pharmacy fills your order. No US address and phone number is a warning sign on the FDA's own list.

  • Compounded sold as generic

    A chew or mint is not generic Viagra. Compounded products are not FDA-approved, whatever the page implies.

  • Counterfeit risk

    The FDA keeps finding fake ED pills and sildenafil hidden in 'natural' enhancement products. Prices that seem too good to be true are on its list too.

  • A LegitScript logo with no seal ID

    A real seal is served by LegitScript and tied to the domain. An image on the program's own site proves nothing on its own.

  • A plan you pay for in full

    Many headline prices are 3, 6 or 12 month plans paid upfront, and some keep billing if you cancel early. Check the month-to-month price.

6

of the 20 men's health programs we track have an FDA warning letter or FTC action on record, whatever product it concerned. Each review says which, with the source. Every record, listed

49

of the 98 plans we list are compounded, not FDA-approved. Every plan on this site is labelled one or the other.

What one dose really costs

Every per-dose ED price the programs publish, cheapest first, with what each plan is: FDA-approved or compounded. Strengths differ, so the plan name is on every row.

Program and planPer dosePer monthWhat it is
Strut Health
Generic sildenafil 25 mg, 90-day supply (30 doses)
source, 2026-10-31
$1.60 / dose$16/mo
10 a month
FDA-approved product
Rex MD
Generic sildenafil 20 to 100 mg
source, 2026-10-31
$1.80 / doseNot statedFDA-approved product
Rex MD
Daily generic tadalafil 2.5 to 5 mg
source, 2026-10-31
$1.80 / doseNot statedFDA-approved product
BlueChew
DailyTAD (compounded daily tadalafil with vitamins, chewable)
source, 2026-10-31
$2 / tabletNot statedCompounded, not FDA-approved
Lemonaid Health
Generic sildenafil (generic Viagra)
source, 2026-10-31
$2 / pill
plus add-ons
Not statedFDA-approved product
Lemonaid Health
Generic tadalafil, daily
source, 2026-10-31
$2 / pill
plus add-ons
Not statedFDA-approved product

The 6 lowest of 35 published per-dose prices. Strengths differ, so compare the plan names too.

  1. 01

    Compare

    Answer four questions or read the rankings. Every price, pharmacy and record links to its source.

  2. 02

    Online visit

    You fill in a medical questionnaire on the program's own site and a licensed clinician decides whether to prescribe.

  3. 03

    Delivered

    A licensed pharmacy ships the medication to your door. You can pause or cancel on the program's own terms, which each review quotes.

Real prices for a prescription you pay for yourself

We do not sell medication and we do not prescribe. Men's Health Watchdog exists so you can choose a program on what it dispenses, what it costs per dose and what is on its record, not on its marketing.

That means the prices on each program's own page, the FDA and FTC records, the LegitScript seal and the cash price of the same drug with your own prescription, read and dated. You decide; we show our work.

About us

Questions about buying online

Something we have not answered? Write to us and we will add it.

Is it safe to buy ED pills online?

It can be, from a US program that requires a prescription from a licensed clinician and ships from a state-licensed pharmacy. The FDA's BeSafeRx advice is to avoid any site that sells prescription drugs without a prescription, has no US address and phone number, or has prices that seem too good to be true. Each of our reviews says which pharmacy fills the order and what we found on the program's LegitScript seal.

How much does generic Viagra cost online?

Programs that include the online visit publish generic sildenafil from a few dollars per pill, and the per-pill price depends heavily on strength and pack size. With your own prescription, Cost Plus Drugs listed 30 tablets of sildenafil 20 mg at $6.72 before shipping when we checked on October 31, 2026. Our ED price page lists every published per-pill and monthly price with its source.

Is a chewable or mint the same as generic Viagra or Cialis?

No. Chews, mints, troches and multi-drug tablets are compounded by a pharmacy and are not FDA-approved. In September 2025 the FDA warned BlueChew that its claims implied its compounded products were the same as FDA-approved ones. Generic sildenafil and tadalafil tablets are FDA-approved. Every plan on this site is labelled one or the other.

Is Hims legit?

Hims is a large US telehealth company whose licensed providers prescribe and whose named partner pharmacies ship the medication. Its record includes a September 2025 FDA warning letter about compounded GLP-1 weight-loss claims, not ED or hair products, and a lawsuit filed on July 29, 2026 by the FTC, Utah and California, which alleges unclear billing and cancellation and health-data sharing. That case is pending. Our Hims review links every source.

Why do online programs cost more than Cost Plus Drugs or Costco?

Because the program price includes the online visit, the prescription, refills and delivery. A cash pharmacy sells only the drug and needs a prescription you already have. A study in the Journal of Urology found telehealth sildenafil at several dollars per pill against cents at Cost Plus. Our price pages show both numbers side by side.

Can I get ED medication online without a subscription?

Some programs let you stop or pause any time, and some, such as Ro and Lemonaid, say they can send the prescription to a pharmacy you choose. Others bill fixed 3, 6 or 12 month plans you pay in full. Each review lists the program's own cancellation terms and how far ahead you must cancel.

Do you cover testosterone (TRT)?

Yes. Testosterone sits here next to ED and hair loss because many men end up asking about all three, and several programs sell them under one account. Our testosterone page lists every published TRT and enclomiphene price, what each one leaves out (memberships, labs, the first visit) and the record of each program, with sources.

Does insurance cover ED pills or finasteride?

Rarely through these programs: almost all are cash only. Medicare Part D plans are barred by law from covering ED drugs when they are prescribed for ED. Finasteride for hair loss is usually treated as cosmetic. Cash prices for generics are often lower than a copay.