Men's Health Watchdog

Red flags in online ED and hair loss programs, checked

Every program we track against the same checks: FDA warning letters, FTC actions and lawsuits, the LegitScript seal and how many of its plans are compounded rather than FDA-approved.

By Julian Caraulani · Last updated

The short version
Of the 20 programs we track, 5 have an FDA warning letter on record and 2 an FTC action, whatever product it concerned; 7 show no LegitScript-issued seal ID on their own site; and 5 sell only compounded products, which are not FDA-approved. Read October 31, 2026.

The four checks, counted

5

have an FDA warning letter on record

2

have an FTC action on record

7

show no LegitScript-issued seal ID

5

sell only compounded, not FDA-approved, products

Every program, the same checks

Highest score first. A LegitScript seal ID is one LegitScript issues and serves; a logo hosted on the program's own site proves nothing on its own, and we have not confirmed any certification on LegitScript's own checker. Each name links to its review, where every fact has its source.

ProgramFDA warning letterFTC actionLegitScriptWhat it dispensesCompounded plans
Rochecked 2026-10-31None foundNone foundLogo, no seal IDFDA-approved + compounded3 of 13
Rex MDchecked 2026-10-31None foundNone foundSeal ID 10012446 shownFDA-approved0 of 7
Happy Headchecked 2026-10-31None foundNone foundSeal ID 10508964 shownFDA-approved + compounded2 of 5
Strut Healthchecked 2026-10-31On recordNone foundSeal ID 11142478 shownFDA-approved + compounded3 of 9
Himschecked 2026-10-31On recordOn recordLogo, no seal IDFDA-approved + compounded6 of 14
BlueChewchecked 2026-10-31On recordNone foundSeal ID 3225649 shownCompounded6 of 6
GoodRx Carechecked 2026-10-31None foundOn recordNone foundFDA-approved0 of 2
Maximuschecked 2026-10-31On recordNone foundSeal ID 9646940 shownFDA-approved + compounded9 of 10
Tuyo Healthchecked 2026-10-31On recordNone foundSeal ID 34369530 shownNot statedNot stated
Keepschecked 2026-10-31None foundNone foundNone foundFDA-approved + compounded1 of 3
MangoRxchecked 2026-10-31None foundNone foundLogo, no seal IDCompounded6 of 6
Lemonaid Healthchecked 2026-10-31None foundNone foundSeal ID 788573 shownFDA-approved + compounded1 of 5
Henry Medschecked 2026-10-31None foundNone foundSeal ID 13220361 shownFDA-approved + compounded1 of 2
Taurus Medschecked 2026-10-31None foundNone foundNot checkedNot statedNot stated
PeterMDchecked 2026-10-31None foundNone foundNone foundFDA-approved0 of 3
Hone Healthchecked 2026-10-31None foundNone foundSeal ID 10842626 shownFDA-approved + compounded0 of 2
Rugietchecked 2026-10-31None foundNone foundLogo, no seal IDCompounded5 of 5
Male Excelchecked 2026-10-31None foundNone foundNot checkedCompounded3 of 3
DudeMedschecked 2026-10-31None foundNone foundSeal ID 15963304 shownCompounded3 of 3
Brightmedschecked 2026-10-31None foundNone foundNot checkedNot statedNot stated

Each record, in its own words

Quoted from our reviews with the source. A letter about one product line says nothing on its own about another, so read what each one concerned.

  • Rex MD
    • Lawsuits: Marden v. LifeMD, a privacy class action over tracking pixels sharing patient data with Meta and Google, was settled with no admission of liability. source
  • Strut Health
    • FDA: FDA sent Strut Health a warning letter dated February 20, 2026 about misbranding claims for compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide (GLP-1 weight loss), not its ED or hair loss products. source
  • Hims
    • FDA: FDA sent Hims & Hers a warning letter on September 9, 2025 about claims for compounded semaglutide (GLP-1 weight loss), not its ED or hair loss products. source
    • FTC lawsuit: On July 29, 2026 the FTC, Utah and California (through Los Angeles County) sued Hims & Hers in federal court in Northern California. The complaint alleges health data was shared with advertising platforms and that billing and cancellation were not clearly disclosed. The case is pending; these are allegations, not findings. source
  • BlueChew
    • FDA: FDA sent Dermacare LLC (BlueChew) a warning letter on September 9, 2025 objecting to claims that its compounded sildenafil and tadalafil are the 'same active' as Viagra and Cialis. source
  • GoodRx Care
    • FTC order: In February 2023 the FTC fined GoodRx $1.5 million in its first Health Breach Notification Rule case, over sharing health data with advertisers; GoodRx admitted no wrongdoing. The order predates GoodRx Care Direct. source
  • Maximus
    • FDA: FDA sent Maximus a warning letter on June 8, 2026 about website claims for compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide (GLP-1 weight loss), not its ED or hair loss products. source
  • Tuyo Health
    • FDA: FDA sent Tuyo Health a warning letter on September 9, 2025 about compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide (GLP-1 weight loss) offered on its website, not its hair loss products. source
  • MangoRx
    • Lawsuit: Eli Lilly sued MangoRx's parent, Mangoceuticals, in October 2024 over its compounded oral tirzepatide (weight loss, not ED or hair loss); MangoRx denied the claims. source

The warning signs, explained

  • No prescription required

    Sildenafil, tadalafil and finasteride are prescription drugs. A site that sells them without one is the first warning sign on the FDA's BeSafeRx list.

  • No named US pharmacy

    A licensed program says which state-licensed pharmacy fills your order. No US address and phone number is a warning sign on the FDA's own list.

  • Compounded sold as generic

    A chew or mint is not generic Viagra. Compounded products are not FDA-approved, whatever the page implies.

  • Counterfeit risk

    The FDA keeps finding fake ED pills and sildenafil hidden in 'natural' enhancement products. Prices that seem too good to be true are on its list too.

  • A LegitScript logo with no seal ID

    A real seal is served by LegitScript and tied to the domain. An image on the program's own site proves nothing on its own.

  • A plan you pay for in full

    Many headline prices are 3, 6 or 12 month plans paid upfront, and some keep billing if you cancel early. Check the month-to-month price.

Compounded is not FDA-approved, and fake ED pills are common

Generic sildenafil, tadalafil and finasteride tablets are FDA-approved. Compounded chews, mints, troches, sprays and multi-drug formulas are mixed by a pharmacy and are not FDA-approved; in September 2025 the FDA sent warning letters to sellers that implied otherwise. Outside licensed programs, the FDA warns that many websites sell prescription drugs without a prescription, and it keeps finding sildenafil and tadalafil hidden in 'natural' sexual enhancement products. Its BeSafeRx program explains how to check that an online pharmacy is licensed.

How these feed the score is on our methodology page.