Oral Minoxidil - A Better Hair Loss Treatment?
By Doctor Gary Linkov · published · 8:01 · 705K views when we checked · Clinician: Gary Linkov
The video belongs to Doctor Gary Linkov and plays on YouTube's privacy-enhanced player. Watch on YouTube.
What this video covers
This video comes from the channel of Doctor Gary Linkov, and its title asks whether oral minoxidil is a better hair loss treatment. According to its description, Linkov works at City Facial Plastics in New York, so the channel belongs to a practice owner who also promotes his own services. The description includes a disclaimer saying the content is for education and entertainment, is not medical advice, and that patients should be evaluated individually by a healthcare provider.
The chapters show an eight minute talk. It opens with an introduction to minoxidil, then moves to who can use the oral form and how it works. Later sections cover a treatment timeline and maintenance, how to access treatment, a comparison of oral and topical minoxidil, dosage and approval, side effects and risks, and finally contraindications and stopping. The chapter titles do not say what is claimed in each part, so the creator's own regimen and any specific figures are only found in the video itself.
The description also contains commercial links. It points to a low cost prescription service at feelconfident.com with a discount code for 10 percent off, lists a phone number for surgical consultations, and recommends a laser light cap through a collabs.shop link, which looks like an affiliate or collaboration link. Readers comparing prices should keep in mind that these links sit alongside the educational content.
Our summary, written from the video's title, description and chapters (description and chapters), checked 2026-10-31. It reports what the creator presents; it is not medical advice, and the creator's experience may not match yours.
Chapters
- 1:24Explains the mechanism of action, meaning how oral minoxidil is said to work.
- 2:23Covers the treatment timeline and what maintenance involves.
- 3:30Compares oral minoxidil with the topical form.
- 5:12Goes through side effects and risks of the oral form.
- 7:02Closes with contraindications and what stopping treatment involves.
What it costs today
- FDA-approved and compounded
- No FDA warning letter found
- No state list published
Which programs let you message a clinician
From each program's own page, read 2026-10-31. "Not found" means we found no statement either way.
| Program | Message a clinician | Cost | From | Visit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Keeps | YesThe plan lists 24/7 messaging access with a licensed medical provider among what you get.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $14/mo | Visit |
| Ro | YesFree, unlimited follow-up messaging with a Ro-affiliated provider after you start treatment.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $16/mo | Visit |
| GoodRx Care | YesYou message your provider from the treatment subscription dashboard; a dose change or a long gap may require a new paid telehealth visit, and no messaging price is stated.source, 2026-10-31 | Not stated | $16/mo | Visit |
| Rex MD | YesFollow-ups are free once treatment starts; you message your assigned provider through the member portal any time.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $18/mo | Visit |
| Happy Head | YesUnlimited dermatologist support to adjust treatment; the page calls it support rather than messaging and states no price for it.source, 2026-10-31 | Not stated | $18/mo | Visit |
| Tuyo Health | YesMonthly follow-ups are included and your doctor stays available to check in; the FAQ adds messaging with your provider on a secure platform.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $18/mo | Visit |
| Strut Health | YesFree, unlimited follow-ups with a healthcare provider, who you can message from your account.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $18.33/mo | Visit |
| Hims | YesYou can message a provider with questions at any time, for free.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $22/mo | Visit |
| Maximus | YesEvery protocol includes 24/7 messaging with your care team at no additional cost.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $24.99/mo | Visit |
| MangoRx | YesUnlimited access to licensed providers for any concerns, with ongoing provider support listed in the monthly plan; the page does not name the channel.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $90/mo | Visit |
| Lemonaid Health | YesMessaging with clinical providers is included (stated on the oral minoxidil hair loss page; the ED page does not mention it).source, 2026-10-31 | Included | See review | Visit |
| PeterMD | YesUnlimited free consultations and 24/7 access to your medical team; the page says access and consults, not messaging by name.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | See review | Visit |
| Hone Health | YesUnlimited messaging with your care team, plus a clinician meeting every 3 months, as part of the membership.source, 2026-10-31 | Included in the paid Hone membership | See review | Visit |
| Rugiet | YesYou can message your doctor anytime in the portal, and unlimited follow-ups with your doctor are included in the price.source, 2026-10-31 | Included | $99/mo | Visit |
| DudeMeds | Not foundNo statement found on the site about messaging a clinician after starting treatment. | Not stated | See review | Visit |
More Minoxidil videos
12:12
2:44
7:21